• ***IMPORTANT*** SOME PASSWORDS NOT WORKING

There has been some issues with user passwords. Some users may need to reset their passwords to login to the forum. Please use the password reset option when logging in. If you do experience issues and find our account is locked then please email admin@jackarmy.net Thanks

Learning a foreign language

Squarebear

Tommy Hutchison
Reaction score
I studied (in the crappest sense of the word) French for five years at school, but upon arrival at Boulogne some years later I found my vocabulary did not extend to being able to ask where the loo was (though I had a broad knowledge of the names of different types of hats).

I'd now like to learn conversational French, just so I can get by there. It'd be nice to be perfect in the tenses but frankly I'm playing the 80/20 game here, and at my time of life I'm conscious of less and less of what I learn actually sticking these days.

Anyone have experience of learning a language later in life? What went well? What didn't? Best approach just rocking up in a country and simply striving to survive?

Try downloading the Duolingo app. It is free but ad driven. There is a premium version too.

I did it to brush up on my Welsh and found it quite fun. You can go back and re-do lessons as well.

I'm in the middle of learning Spanish seriously for the first time at 67, for obvious reasons. I've always had a bit of French due to a lifelong love of the country and culture, but I'm trying to improve it now as well because I've made several French friends over here in Spain.
Duolingo is free online and quite good for both languages. I've got The Collins grammar book for both languages and they're good too.
There's no one recommended method, we go to classes, we watch Spanish TV with Spanish subtitles, we have an 'intercambio' once a week with two Spaniards who want to learn English, we read Spanish books and newspapers.